NO MUSEUM-PIECE FAITH 

Hebrews 11:13-16 13:14 

For we have no lasting city, but we seek the city that is to come.” Heb. 13:14 (ESV) 

I’m nostalgic. I like boyhood homes, old mills, highway historical markers, turn-of-the-century buildings, and anything that even looks antique. I’m curious about who settled where, when, and what life was like “back then”. 

I would spend more time dusting off the past, but present family, church, community, and world needs compete for my attention. They are real. They are often urgent. They can’t be neglected while I peruse pioneer artifacts and pictures at the county museum. Today doesn’t call, it shouts. 

Then there’s God’s Word. While giving due place to the past and generous attention to the present, it flashes with lightning brilliance by promise and command, by example and exhortation, “there is a better country”, “a city to come”. 

The Bible is futuristic. I need constant reminders of that. I’m too often a creature of today and sometimes a captive of the past. My prayer is “O God, help me to ‘lay hold on eternal life’. “Help me to ‘set my affections on things above’. “

The dusty artifacts of the past and the pressing demands of the present, and even pleasing plans for the near future, will one day give place to the imperishable “city of God” – for those “who love His appearing”. 

Rev. Ken Friesen 

Published by Douglas Johnson

I am a Life, Health and Wellness Coach, Herbalist, Nutritionist, Investigative Journalist, and Author

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started