SAFE SIN, CHEAP GRACE, OR HOOKED – Part 5

Hooked, or Just Nibbling on the Bait?

John 6:63-69

“Lord, to whom shall we go?  You have the words of eternal life, and we have believed, and have come to  know, that you are the Holy One of God.” (vs. 68, 69 ESV)

I love to go fishing, but I despise a place where a bunch of little suckers simply mouth the bait, nibble, nibble, nibble, but never really get hooked.  I want a place where hungry fish come along, open their mouths wide, and take in hook, line, and sinker!  Isn’t it a wonderful experience in the Lord’s work to find someone who gets really “hooked” right off?  So many just love a little nibble on the bait, but never dream of getting truly hooked.  They love the free loaves and fishes.  They are titillated by seeing miracles performed.  They even get slightly involved personally, so long as no personal sacrifice is involved.  The bait tastes nice, and a bit of the bubbling-over joy and thrill of the genuine Christians rubs off on them, and they feel good.  But when Christ, through the ministry of the Holy Spirit, calls them to lay everything on the line and go all out for him they turn away and “walk no more with Him”.  Like the Rich Young Ruler!  How sad.

I suppose it is quite painful for a fish to get really hooked.  But in Christ, a real miracle takes place, for when we get totally “hooked” on Him is when it quits hurting and begins to really feel good!  Another thing is when I got really hooked He could start reeling me in, drawing me closer and closer to Himself.  As Fanny Crosby puts it so beautifully:

            “I am Thine, oh Lord, I have heard Thy voice,

            And it told Thy love to me.  But I long to

            rise, in the arms of faith, And be closer

            drawn to Thee.  Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer

            blessed Lord, To the cross where Thou hast

            died.  Draw me  nearer, nearer, nearer  blessed

            Lord, to Thy precious bleeding side.”

Rev. John F. Kunkle

Published by Douglas Johnson

I am a Life, Health and Wellness Coach, Herbalist, Nutritionist, Investigative Journalist, and Author

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started