HOW AMAZING!

Psalm 8:3, 4

“When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him?” (NIV)

Every time I read Psalm 8:3 & 4 I marvel at the Greatness and the Goodness of God.  His Greatness is seen in the vastness of creation.  He created it all and it belongs to Him.  “When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers. . .” (NIV)  One scholar suggests the word “fingers” indicates the personal involvement of God in the act of creation.

Note also the vastness of His handiwork.  Visualize if you can a model in which the earth is a globe one-quarter inch in diameter.  The moon is the size of a grass seed; Jupiter, our largest planet, is the size of a three-inch orange.  The sun is a globe two feet, seven inches in diameter.  The star Betelgeuse in the constellation Orion is 1000 miles in diameter and is 300 light years from Earth.  (A light year is the distance light travels in one year at the rate of 186,000 miles per second.)  How vast God’s creation is.

With that as a background, the Psalmist asks the question, “What is man?”  In physical terms, he is but a microscopic speck on the little planet Earth.  But, the Psalmist points out, little as man is, God has him in mind and cares for him.  This reveals the Goodness of God.  He actually knows my name.  Not only that, He knows all about me, nothing escapes His attention.  Jesus said, “Your Father knows what you need before you ask Him” (Matt. 6:8).  Furthermore, He not only knows me but He cares for me.  He acts on my behalf.  He gave His Son to die for me that I might be redeemed.  And daily He manifests His love and care.  Paul says to the Philippian believers, “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”

What is man?  He is the object of God’s concern and care.  Doesn’t that thrill you?  Doesn’t that move you to worship?

Dr. Hollis Abbott

Published by Douglas Johnson

I am a Life, Health and Wellness Coach, Herbalist, Nutritionist, Investigative Journalist, and Author

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started