A THREEFOLD PICTURE

Luke 9:57-62

“Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.  For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.”  Matt. 16:24-25 (NIV)

What an interesting picture we have here as Jesus and His disciples are walking along the road.  As you read the story, what do you see?  I share with you three concepts that come out of the story for me and each concept has three characteristics.

First, there are three types of discipleship pictured:

  1. In verse 57 is the hasty response: “I’ll go where you go, but not necessarily at the pace or price you state.”  Are any of us acting like that?
  2. In verse 59 is the hampered response: “I’ll go, but not until I’ve taken care of my personal matters.”  How many of us allow the cares of this world to hinder us from immediately following the leading of the Holy Spirit?
  3. In verse 61 is the hesitant response: “I’ll follow you after I’ve taken care of family concerns.”  But what if those family concerns take preeminence over the Lord’s call to follow Him?

Second, there are three types of call to be:

  1. In verse 58 – a Pilgrim.
  2. In verse 60 – a Propagator (witness).
  3. In verse 62 – a Plowman.

Third, there are three challenges:

  1. In verses 57 and 58, there is the challenge to Sacrifice.
  2. In verses 59 and 60, there is the challenge to Service.
  3. In verses 61 and 62, there is the challenge to Separation.

Let us reflect today as to what the Lord says to each one of us as to our personal discipleship, as to our response to the call and to the challenge before us.

Dr. Arthur M. Climenhaga

Published by Douglas Johnson

I am a Life, Health and Wellness Coach, Herbalist, Nutritionist, Investigative Journalist, and Author

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started