WHEN GOD SPEAKS – Part 5

Ephesians 5:17; Matthew 7:21

“Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do.” Eph. 5:17 (NLT)

(11)  1 John 2:28; Romans 14:12.  We concluded yesterday with the question, “Would Jesus do it?”  This verse prompts us to ask a similar question when we have decisions to make: “Would I like to be found doing it when Jesus returns?”  Really, the question causes us to take into consideration the fact that God really does see and know all that we do here and now.  I wonder if sometimes we haven’t forgotten that magnificent truth we learned as children.  The children’s chorus comes to mind which says, “Oh be careful little eyes what you see, . . . .Oh be careful little hands what you do, . . . .Oh be careful little feet where you go, . . . .For the Father up above is looking down in love.”  Are there some choices I’ve made that I would change if I really believed that Christ was by my side observing all that I do?

(12)  1 Corinthians 10:31.  Some decisions would be more easily made if we simply asked, “Will it glorify God?”  What is the ultimate purpose of the thing?  What will its outcome be?  We should not be afraid to move into positions or places where we receive greater recognition (or more money, or power, etc.) – if that is where God wants us.  But we never dare allow that to be our motive for choosing a new direction in life.

(13)  Ephesians 4:7-16.  Here is one of Paul’s passages about spiritual gifts.  Every Christian is uniquely gifted by the Holy Spirit for serving and edifying the Church.  Therefore, when I make decisions, I should consider whether or not those decisions will enable me to more fully develop and use those gifts.  That is not to say that God won’t sometimes lead me to make decisions that will cause me to “stretch” in other areas in which I do not consider myself to be gifted.  But generally, my choices should point in the direction in which God has gifted me.

Rev. Bruce E. Moyer

Published by Douglas Johnson

I am a Life, Health and Wellness Coach, Herbalist, Nutritionist, Investigative Journalist, and Author

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started